'Wendouree' - Restored Stone Villa C1905 Of Immense Charm And Presence
This C1905 Stone Villa boasts a commanding street presence and old world ambiance seldom found today.
Lovingly restored by the current owners over the past 18 years; it’s now time to hand over for a new owner to enjoy.
The generous floor plan includes 4 double bedrooms, huge lounge, billiard room, kitchen, butler’s pantry, small office and cellar. Located on a corner block of two titles of some 3425 m2.
Encompassing the best of old and new; which only an inspection will reveal. The home boasts Jarrah and Baltic floorboards, cast verandah posts and lacework, lofty ceilings, timber fretwork, exquisite fireplace surrounds and mantles and ornate ceiling centrepieces.
Modern touches include twin ducted evaporative air conditioners, r/c split air, solar power system, upgraded wiring and plumbing and upgraded timber kitchen.
And it gets better too – there’s a stunning in-ground pool, 45,000l poly tank storage, colorbond garage with lights, power and concrete floor, an open front car/caravan shed with adjoining lock-up hobby room. The formal front gardens are a feature; with the rear gardens offering vege patch, fruit trees and hen house.
Will suit a number of buyers: those with teens or small children; the history lover or even the entertainer and is a residence reserved for the discerning buyer.
Your call and inspection is highly recommended
Ross Greenfield 0403 777 672
An historic home deserves a little note from the past
Wendouree C1905 has enjoyed a number of owners in its 11 decades of life.
There’s been a couple of ship’s captains, a metals assayer. a labourer, a draper, a business owner an educator and not to forget the original builder of this remarkable residence: Mr William Thomas Gronow a metallurgist at the smelter. William engaged a famed glazier of the time Mr H L Vosz to design and install the intricate leadlight throughout the residence.
Poor William Thomas passed in 1908, just 3 years after completion.
The second owner from 1912) had the impressive moniker of Alfred Major Mars; a ship’s captain who worked as a marine surveyor upon settling at Wendouree
Mars then sold to another Alfred in 1924. Alfred John Martin became the third owner and remained in place till 1953.
A few others resided until Captain Geoffrey Harwood Nichols and Mary Elizabeth Nichols raised their three children from 1976 on. Mary engaged a Mrs Symons from Jamestown to re-design the landscaping and gardens to breathe life into the grounds.
Various other have enjoyed living at Wendouree (which at one time was used as a nursing home) including our current vendors who purchased the property at auction in February 2000 and have restored this beauty to its former glory…. A labour of love spanning 18 years.
Information provided from the handwritten landS title from 1904; book published 1988 by N Wood ‘ People of Port Pirie – Past and Present’ and the current owners.
- Air Conditioning
- Alarm System